History 282: Trail of Tears
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
About this Guide
This is a curated collection of resources for History 282: Trail of Tears.
While some of these are open web resources, most links are library subscriptions only available to St. Olaf affiliates (students, faculty, and staff).
Overview Resources - Background Information
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and LawCall Number: KF8205 .E525 2009 (Rolvaag Reference)
Treaties with American IndiansCall Number: KF8203.6 .T74 2008 (Rolvaag Reference)Also available as an e-book
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Find Scholarly Articles
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
Find Primary Sources
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.
- American West This link opens in a new windowDigitized manuscripts, rare printed works, maps, and ephemera (including photographs, wanted posters, and news-sheets) illuminating the history of the western United States. Provides full-text access to eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century primary sources.
- Ancestry.com Library Edition This link opens in a new windowSearch all Native American Records here. Off-campus users should click the link above to login to ancestry.com via St. Olaf Libraries.
See the More tab above to see how to find even more primary sources in Catalyst!
Find Historical Newspapers
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowDigitized periodicals published in the United States between 1741 and 1900. This full-text collection of primary sources includes popular magazines and early professional and scientific journals.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and 2000. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.
- Cherokee Phoenix"Articles presented on this site were originally published between 1828 and 1834 in the Cherokee Phoenix, the national newspaper of the Cherokee Nation."
Web Sources
- Indian Removal Act Documentsfrom the Library of Congress
- The Gateway to Oklahoma Historyfrom the Oklahoma Historical Society
- Indian-Pioneer Papers Oral History Collectionfrom the University of Oklahoma Western History Collections
- Indian Affairs, Laws, and Treatiesfrom Digital Collections at OKSTATE Library
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsSearch digitized content from the Library of Congress
- Seminole Emigration Records"This is a transcription of a few smaller Seminole Emigration muster rolls and letters" from the National Archives.
- Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842"Contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States" from various universities, archives, and museums.