- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Linguistics Subject Guide
- Key Linguistics Research Resources
Linguistics Subject Guide
Research Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Language and LinguisticsCall Number: P29 .E48 2006 14 vols.
Atlas of the World's LanguagesCall Number: G1046.E3 A8 2007
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient LanguagesCall Number: P371.C357 2004
Compendium of the World's LanguagesCall Number: P371 .C36 2000
Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive tool for exploring the meanings, origins, and evolution of words in the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is available online and in print in the reference room.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the complete Oxford English Dictionary. The OED includes current definitions but is also a historical dictionary, allowing users to trace the changing meanings of words through the centuries. Also available in print.
Specialized English Dictionaries
Merriam-Webster's dictionary of allusionsCall Number: PN43 .W384 (Reference Room)Publication Date: 1999
The Facts on File dictionary of clichésCall Number: PE1689 .A48 (Reference Room)Publication Date: 2001
Cassell Dictionary of ClichesPublication Date: 1999
New Oxford Rhyming DictionaryPublication Date: 2012
Find Articles in Research Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations in descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics, including work on phonetics, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Covers materials published 1973-present.
- Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full-text databases covering linguistics (1973 - current). Includes Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) and Linguistics Database.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.