- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Norwegian Roots -- Finding Family Members, Farms and Communities in Norway
- Genealogical Research Guides to Norway
Norwegian Roots -- Finding Family Members, Farms and Communities in Norway
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
General Research Tools
Scandinavian genealogical research manual by Call Number: CS16 .T5Publication Date: 1980The Scandinavian Genealogical Research Manual combined information pertaining to Denmark and Norway. Previously published in three volumes, the works are now consolidated into one book.The first volume is a Danish-Norwegian language guide and dictionary; the second volume explains the old handwriting and names of Denmark and Norway; and the third volume covers Danish-Norwegian genealogical research sources.
How to trace your ancestors in Norway by Call Number: CS912 .O4 1966Publication Date: 1966A useful "how to" book for the beginner.
Genealogical guidebook & atlas of Norway by Call Number: CS913 .S5Publication Date: between 1970 and 1979Church records and registers in Norway including maps.
Genealogical maps & guide to Norwegian parish register by Call Number: CS913 .T56 1988Publication Date: 1988The first section is a list of the sokne (parishes) of Norway with map reference, name of the sokn, and prestegjeld (clerical district), the time period the parish registers are available on microfilms at The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and the name of the fylke (county). The second section provides genealogical maps with the general location of each sokn within its proper prosti (deanery), fylke (county) and bispedømme (diocese) as of the year 1979.
Slekts gransking med dataveiledning : slektsprogram, slektsstevne, slektsbok by Call Number: CS913 .H33 2001Publication Date: 2001A "how to" book for anyone doing genealogical research in Norway.- Historiske persondata i Norge = Computerized nominative historical sources in Norway by Call Number: CS913 .H57 1993Publication Date: 1993Provides listings of genealogical sources in Norway sorted by location, time period, and type of sources.
Kalender for historie og ættegransking by Call Number: CE81 .H4Publication Date: 1965Provides a calendar from 1620 to 1800, as well as a key to Latin and Norwegian names for holiday and church festivals.Norsk Lokalhistorisk Litteratur, 1946-1970 by
Call Number: DL445 .U5Publication Date: 1976Annotated bibliography of local history sources.Norsk Lokalhistorisk Litteratur, 1971-1990 by
Call Number: DL445 .U52Publication Date: 1993Annotated bibliography of local history sources.
Norsk lokalhistorisk litteratur : bibliografi over by- og bygdebøker, regionhistorie og periodika ca. 1900-1996 by Call Number: DL448 .F953 1997Publication Date: 1997Annotated bibliography of local history sources including bygdebøker.- Ny lokalhistorisk litteratur by Call Number: DL448 .F96Publication Date: not identifiedPhotocopies of bibliographies published annually in: Heimen, 1997-date.
Norwegian local history : a bibliography of material in the collections of the Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison by Call Number: DL444 .H5 1989Publication Date: 1989Arranged by place names.
Farm and Family Names
Norske gaardnavne by
Call Number: PD2695 .R9Publication Date: 1897-1924A directory of all main farms (some subdivisions) arranged geographically by province (fylke), county (herred or kommune) and parish (sokn or sogn). Indexed by fylke with a general index.- Norske gardsbruk by Call Number: DL418 .N85Publication Date: not identifiedDirectory of farms in Norway for Vestfold, Buskerud, Oppland, and Telemark fylke. Provides photographs of farms with the name of the then-current owner and an accounting of the livestock.
- Norske gardsbruk by Call Number: DL418.N853Publication Date: 1965Similar directory of farms in Norway for Østfold, Akershus, and Hedmark fylke.
- Norske gardsbruk. Buskerud fylke. by Call Number: DL418 .N855 1990Publication Date: 1990Covers the farms in Buskerud fylke.
Norsk etternamnleksikon : norske slektsnamn, utbreiing, tyding og opphav by Call Number: CS2595 .V45 2000Publication Date: 2000An etymological dictionary of family names in Norway.
For additional material on geographical or personal names in Norway search the library's online catalog by subject NAMES, GEOGRAPHICAL--NORWAY or NAMES, PERSONAL-NORWAY or NAMES, PERSONAL, NORWEGIAN.
This directory for Norway will provide access to farms by name if they are still inhabited.