American Conversations 111: Borders and Empires

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

These databases compile many electronic encyclopedias into a searchable interface:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Full-text author biographies with critical overviews of major works plus lists of secondary sources for further research. Discusses literary authors working across genres and historical periods (classical to contemporary). Covers criticism published 1978-present.

These are individual e-reference books:

American Decades
Covers the years 1900-1999. Choose a volume or use the "Search within publication" box in the upper right-hand corner.
print or e-book
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Publication Date: 2009
e-book
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History
Ref: GE150 .E53 2011 (4v)

Encyclopedia of American Studies
"Covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement. With over 800 online, searchable articles and accompanying bibliographies, related websites, illustrations, and supplemental material, the Encyclopedia of American Studies is the leading reference work for American Studies."