HonCode Principles
Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in Biology 123. For further assistance, please schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu.
Best Bets: Databases
St. Olaf has access to many databases that will assist you in your research, but try these to get started.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowSupporting students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals, ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health Premium offers over 700 scholarly journals, 350+ training videos, and provides a unique immersive user experience.
- More Biology DatabasesLinks to all St. Olaf databases which include content relevant to biology research.
Zotero Help
- Zotero GuideA guide compiled by the St. Olaf librarians to help you download and get started using Zotero. Please refer to this guide before contacting the IT helpdesk or emailing the library.
In-Class Activity
- In-Class ActivityWe'll complete this activity in class together!