Biology 150: Biodiversity Foundations
Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you locate and cite sources for your research in Biology 150. For further assistance, you can schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu.
Best Bets: Databases
St. Olaf has access to many databases that will assist you in your research, but try these to get started.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
- More Biology DatabasesLinks to all databases St. Olaf subscribes to that have content relevant to biology research.
Zotero Help
- Zotero GuideA guide compiled by the St. Olaf librarians to help you download and get started using Zotero. Please refer to this guide before contacting the IT helpdesk or emailing the library.
- Free Microsoft Office SuiteMicrosoft Office 365 is available for all St. Olaf students, faculty and staff, and you can install the full Office applications on up to 5 PCs or Macs for free. If you don't have Microsoft Word installed on your computer but would like to use the Word-Zotero integration, this is where to find installation instructions.
Adding Italics to Zotero Records
If you need to display information in italics (for example, genus and species names), you will need to edit the Zotero record. Type <i> where you want the italics to begin, and </i> where you want them to end.
- For example, here's what an article title would look like in Zotero:
- Microplastic study reveals the presence of natural and synthetic fibres in the diet of King Penguins <i>(Aptenodytes patagonicus)</i> foraging from South Georgia
- And here's what that same article title would look like in your Word document or Google doc:
- Microplastic study reveals the presence of natural and synthetic fibres in the diet of King Penguins (Aptenodytes patagonicus) foraging from South Georgia.
In-Class Activity
- In-Class ActivityWe'll complete this activity in class together!