- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- First-Year Seminar 120S: Race and the Supernatural in Performance
- Recommended Resources: The Supernatural
First-Year Seminar 120S: Race and the Supernatural in Performance
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Reference Works
Reference works, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, can be a great place to learn background information on your topic.
-
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions
by
ISBN: 1593394918Publication Date: 2008-04-03A guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them. It includes features such as: entries on religious movements and concepts, historical and legendary figures, divinities, religious sites and ceremonies; images that show sacred places, vestments, rituals, objects, and texts; and more. -
Supernatural Literature of the World
by
Call Number: Rolvaag Reference PN56.S8 S86 2005ISBN: 0313327742Publication Date: 2005-09-30This encyclopedia provides thorough coverage of literature of the supernatural. The most exhaustive work of its kind, it includes entries on authors, works, and numerous topics, including alien abduction, drama, ghouls, and Latin literature. Entries draw on current scholarship, with special attention to recent writers.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowset "Subject" to "Religion" to access dictionaries and encyclopedias on various belief systems
Journal Articles
The following databases will help you find articles about religion and the supernatural. Check the "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" boxes to help limit your search to peer-reviewed articles -- but remember, reviews and letters to/from the editor are not peer-reviewed!
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
-
ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
-
Religious & Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles in religion and theology. Covers materials published 1958-present.