- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- First-Year Seminar 120S: Race and the Supernatural in Performance
- Recommended Resources: Race & Ethnic Studies
First-Year Seminar 120S: Race and the Supernatural in Performance
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Reference Works
Reference works, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, can be a great place to learn background information on your topic.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by ISBN: 0028661958Publication Date: 2013-02-01Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.
Journal Articles
The following databases will help you find articles about race and ethnic studies. Check the "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" boxes to help limit your search to peer-reviewed articles -- but remember, reviews and letters to/from the editor are not peer-reviewed!
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- Politics Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full-text databases covering political science and public policy. Includes PAIS Index (1914 - current), Policy File Index (1990 - current), Political Science Database (1985 - current), and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current).