LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Dictionaries and Lexicons
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the complete Oxford English Dictionary. The OED includes current definitions but is also a historical dictionary, allowing users to trace the changing meanings of words through the centuries. Also available in print.
- Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755.
- Shakespeare's WordsA searchable database of Shakespeare’s words (like a concordance, but better). You can look at categories of words like “greetings” or “curses,” or look at a play line-by-line to see definitions of words and links to other plays in which Shakespeare used them.
Shakespeare Bibliographies, Handbooks, and Companions
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Popular Culture by Publication Date: 2007"Explores the remarkable variety of forms that Shakespeare's life and works have taken over the course of four centuries, ranging from the early modern theatrical marketplace to the age of mass media, and including stage and screen performance, music and the visual arts, the television serial and popular prose fiction."
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare by Publication Date: 2012"Contains forty specially written articles providing fresh and imaginative readings of Shakespeare's plays and poems, reflects on the current state of Shakespeare Studies, and suggests the likely future directions it will take."
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and Embodiment by Publication Date: 2016"Offers an intersectional paradigm for considering representations of gender in the context of race, ethnicity, sexuality, disability, and religion. In addition to sophisticated textual analysis drawing on the methods of historicism, psychoanalysis, queer theory, and posthumanism, experts discuss Shakespeare's life, contemporary editing practices, and performance of his plays."
Shakespeare in Our Time by Publication Date: 2016"Offers a 'state of the nation' look at Shakespeare criticism, covering all the key areas of research and study including gender, text, performance, the body, history, religion and biography."
- Oxford Bibliography of Shakespeare (Renaissance and Reformation)Compiled by David Bevington.
- Oxford Bibliography of Shakespeare (British and Irish Literature)Compiled by Andrew Hadfield and Amy Kenny
- Oxford Bibliography of Shakespeare on Film (Cinema and Media Studies)Compiled by Russell Jackson