English 380: Shakespeare

Need a Boost?

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics

Map of Early Modern London
"Our ongoing project is to map the spatial imaginary of Shakespeare’s city; we ask how London’s spaces and places were named, traversed, used, repurposed, and contested by various practitioners (Michel de Certeau’s term), writers, and civic officials. MoEML’s maps allow us to plot people, historical documents, literary works, and recent critical research onto topography and the built environment."

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the complete Oxford English Dictionary. The OED includes current definitions but is also a historical dictionary, allowing users to trace the changing meanings of words through the centuries. Also available in print.

Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)
LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755.
Shakespeare's Words
A searchable database of Shakespeare’s words (like a concordance, but better). You can look at categories of words like “greetings” or “curses,” or look at a play line-by-line to see definitions of words and links to other plays in which Shakespeare used them.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digitized English-language books published between 1473 and 1700, including works of literature, religious texts, government documents, scholarly works, and much more.

Bodleian First Folio
A digital facsimile of the First Folio of Shakespeare's plays, from the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford.
Shakespeare Quartos at the National Library of Scotland
Digitized versions of many of Shakespeare’s plays from the 17th century – not necessarily the earliest versions.
British Library: Shakespeare in Quarto
Images of all the quartos of Shakespeare’s plays printed during his lifetime.

Renaissance Woman: a Sourcebook by Kate Aughterson (Editor)
"A collection of accounts of women and femininity in early modern England. The Sourcebook brings together sources ranging from medical documents and political pamphlets to sermons and the Bible, as well as literary sources."
Religion and Society in Early Modern England by David Cressy and Lori Anne Ferrell (Editors)
"A sourcebook covering interplay between religion, politics, society, and popular culture in the Tudor and Stuart periods. It covers topics of the Reformation through narratives, reports, literary works, orthodox and unorthodox religious writing, institutional church documents, and parliamentary proceedings."