Music 230: African American Song Literature

LibKey Nomad

Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts

Karen Olson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

Streaming Music Databases

Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
Classical Music in Video contains hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 450 Met Opera performances. Watch Terence Blanchard's Fire Shut Up in My Bones!
Music Online This link opens in a new window
A cross search of all the streaming audio provided by Alexander Street Press.
Naxos Musical Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming jazz recordings. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz along with Prophone and Proprius.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz. Includes brief discussions of the works and biographical information on composers and artists.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of opera performances, interviews, and documentaries. Covers operas composed from the Baroque to the contemporary periods; includes materials recorded approximately 1933-present.
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of music, spoken word (including speeches and readings of literary texts), and sounds. Coverage crosses geographic areas and historical periods.

Other Streaming Media

Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video collection includes independent films, documentaries, educational films, newsreels, theater and musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of documentaries on American history (from major producers like The History Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, and Documentary Educational Resources) as well as newsreels and archival footage.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

Physical AV Materials

The Music Library has a large collection of music in physical recording formations, such as CDs and DVDs. Unfortunately, you can't see the collection because it is kept in a room behind the circ desk.

1. You can locate these materials in Catalyst by ticking the "audio/video" radial button at the top of the search interface. Don't use the "Material Type" menu for this; the menu shows only online AV sources.

2. When you've found the album you want, take the call number to the circ desk and ask the employee there to pull the item for you.

3. If you don't have the right kind of playback device, ask the circ desk worker to help you set up at one of our listening and viewing stations.