English 219: Anglophone Literature and Global Ethics
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Finding Reference Sources: Try These Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Reference Sources for Researching Ethics and Philosophy
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a major, free online resource for the most recent scholarship on most topics in philosophy, historical and contemporary.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Publication Date: 2015A leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Publication Date: 2016This dictionary provides accessible coverage of Western, Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophical traditions. Entries include over 400 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Ethics by Publication Date: 2013The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by Publication Date: 2012This two-volume Encyclopedia of Global Justice is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice.
Companions & Handbooks
Several presses in the English-speaking world such as Oxford, Cambridge, Blackwell, etc. have published highly useful reference works in different areas of philosophy. They are usually titled using the word "companion" or "handbook", e.g. A Companion to Metaphysics or The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy. Click on the links below to find these items in Catalyst:
Reference Sources for World Literature
The Routledge Companion to World LiteratureCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2011In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field. The volume covers the history of World Literature through significant writers and theorists from Goethe to Said; the disciplinary relationship of World Literature to areas such as philology, translation, globalization and diaspora studies; theoretical issues in World Literature including gender, politics and ethics; and a global perspective on the politics of World Literature.
