English 232: Writing America

Books, pamphlets and broadsides that hold a record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

A collated version of three resources: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; and American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I. May be searched separately as well -- see individual titles in this list.

Digitized newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and 2000. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.

Primary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.

Digitized periodicals published in the United States between 1741 and 1900. This full-text collection of primary sources includes popular magazines and early professional and scientific journals.

In collaboration with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Information Services created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples in texts published in multiple languages, including, but not limited to, German, French, Spanish, Polish and Scandinavian.

Digitized primary sources on the Americas, 1500-1926. The collection includes materials produced in the Americas as well as materials about the Americas but produced around the world, offering a global perspective on this period. Sources include books, pamphlets, broadsides, and documents across genres.

Includes collections of books, serials, and primary sources on "the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions."

Full-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.