- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120P: Language and Identity
- Find Background Info
Writing 120P: Language and Identity
Research Librarian
Find Background Info
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, 2nd Ed.Call Number: Rolvaag Reference (P29 .E48 2006)
International Encyclopedia of Linguisticse-book
"The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics."
Encyclopedia of Linguisticse-book
"Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader."
Dictionary of American Regional EnglishCall Number: Rolvaag Reference Room: PE 2843.D52
Multicultural AmericaCall Number: Rolvaag Reference: E184 .A1 M815 2011
Key Web Resources
Search Catalyst for Reference Entries
Search Catalyst for reference entries (encyclopedia and dictionary entries) about your topic. Choose a subject-specific encyclopedia to get background information about your topic.
Not sure how to search Catalyst for reference entries? Watch this 1m50sec video.
Catalyst Default Search
Openly Editable Encyclopedia
- Wikipedia"The free encyclopedia that anyone can edit."
Tips for Wise Wikipedia Use
- Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
- Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
- Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
- Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.