Film and Media Studies 220: Podcasting and Photography

Our archives are searchable through our finding aid database, FRAM or Find Records and Archival Materials. We are currently reprocessing our archives to provide finding aids for all of our collections and not all of our collections are represented in this database yet. Feel free to contact us with any questions as you start to research with our collections. 

We recommend you create an account when using FRAM. See our helpful tips page for getting started with our database.

Things to know before you begin: 

Archives are organized differently than books. Collections are described or processed using finding aids. As described by the Society of American Archivists: "Often a finding aid places archival resources in context by consolidating information about the collection, such as acquisition and processing; provenance, including administrative history or biographical note; scope of the collection, including size, subjects, media; organization and arrangement; and an inventory of the series and the folders. Finding aids could also describe a single level or a single item."

Unlike opening up Google or searching keywords in Catalyst, research with archival collections requires time and a lot of sifting through materials. A finding aid will help you find an interesting box or series related to your research, but you will still need to go through folder contents to find the material to meet your research topic. Make sure to budget time when you start your research.

We continue to digitize and conserve our collections. Please you FRAM to explore more digital content from:

• F. Melius Christiansen papers
• O.G. Felland photograph collection
• Inez Frayseth staff papers
• Northfield Postcard collection
• Panorama photographs
• WCAL radio station records

Other published works:

• The Old Main: This book, written by Edel Ytterboe Ayers and published in 1969, is "dedicated to the rare and beautiful spirit which embodies the alumni and the friends of St. Olaf College."
• Souvenir of St. Olaf College: A souvenir booklet, dedicated by the alumni association on the first 25 years of St. Olaf College.
• Manitou analecta : a collection of narratives of selected events and recollections drawn from my years of association with St. Olaf College, its staff and its students: A record of significant events in the history of the college as remembered by Gertrude Hilleboe. After her undergraduate days at St. Olaf, Hilleboe later occupied the position of Dean of Women for 43 years.
• As it was in the beginning: Reflections about St. Olaf life in the college's early days written from a woman's standpoint. Georgina Dieson-Hegland, class of 1904, first published this work in 1950.
• My years at St. Olaf : with particular emphasis on my lifelong association with my friend F. Melius Christiansen and the St. Olaf Lutheran Choir: Written by St. Olaf's first manager of musical organizations, Paul G. Schmidt, this memoir recounts his near life-long association with St. Olaf with a special emphasis on his relationship with F. Melius Christiansen and the St. Olaf Choir.
• Fifty memorable years at St. Olaf, marking the history of the "College on the hill" from its founding in 1874 to its golden jubilee celebration in 1925.: Professor I. F. Grose's history of the "College on the Hill" from its founding in 1874 to its golden jubilee celebration in 1925.
• Ole Voices No. 1: Reminiscences: Reflections about St. Olaf life in the college’s early days written Mrs. Elise Kittelsby Ytterboe. Edited by Jeff M. Sauve.
• Ole Voices No. 2: Etiquette 101: Prof. Halvor T. Ytterboe's 101 rules of etiquette and good behavior as prescribed to St. Olaf students in the late 19th century. Edited by Jeff M. Sauve.