- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 345: Music and Fairy Tales
- Research Databases
Music 345: Music and Fairy Tales
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Research Databases
This course is not research intensive, but if you want to find academic research about fairy tales and folklore in music, here are some places to look!
Music Research Databases
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference resource on African American music.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles from music magazines and journals. Less scholarly content than RILM and MPD, but better coverage of current popular music.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes book, book chapters, and articles about music; most are available in full text.
Literature and Anthopology Databases
Depending on what aspect of folklore you want to learn about, you may have good luck looking in literature and/or anthropology databases. The ones below are good all-purpose research sources. Be sure to check out the culturally-specific databases as well by setting the subject dropdown menu to the appropriate area (for example, Latin American Studies.)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes research in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.