- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 345: Music and Fairy Tales
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Music 345: Music and Fairy Tales
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Fairy Tales and Folklore Reference
This is not an exhaustive list. If you're looking for resources for a specific culture that's not included here, see the "handy search terms" tab for tips on finding resources on that culture's folklore.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy TalesISBN: 9780199689828Cover all aspects of the Western fairy tale tradition, from medieval to modern. ONLINE
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales [3 Volumes]Call Number: GR74 .G73 2008ISBN: 9780313334412A broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. PRINT.
African FolkloreISBN: 0203493141Written by an international team of experts, the 300 entries provide insight into many facets of African culture and folklore.
American myths, legends, and tall tales : an encyclopedia of american folkloreISBN: 9798216046547his multi-volume encyclopedia will teach readers the central myths and legends that have formed American culture since its earliest years of settlement. pecial attention is paid to African American folklore, Asian American folklore, and the folklore of other traditions that are often overlooked or marginalized in other studies of the topic.
A Dictionary of English FolkloreISBN: 0198607660Containing 1,250 entries, from dragons to Mother Goose, May Day to Michaelmas, this reference work is an absorbing and entertaining guide to English folklore.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and TraditionsISBN: 9780765620255A multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife.
Music Reference
The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicISBN: 9780824060350Full-text encyclopedia covering music around the world and throughout history; search for the volume for your geographic area. ONLINE. (Note: This title takes a minute to load.)
Oxford Music OnlineISBN: 1561592390Publication Date: 2001The go-to music reference collection. Best for western art music and some world music. ONLINE.
Encyclopedia of Mythological ObjectsISBN: 9781476676883More than one thousand detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over.
