- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120I: Finding Refuge
- Find Primary Sources
Writing 120I: Finding Refuge
In Catalyst
There are 2 basic ways that you can search for primary literature in Catalyst:
1. Along with your basic keywords, use terms that point to primary sources such as:
- diaries
- correspondence
- letters
- pamphlets
- documents
- speeches
- manuscripts
- personal narratives
- interviews
2. Perform a search in Catalyst with basic keywords for your topic, find the Genre/Form set of filters to the left of your search results and open that group; check to see if there are any terms there that would point to a primary source and click on that filter OR click on the Sources filter and see if that leads you to a primary source.
In Library Databases
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- BBC Monitoring Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 1996-present. Note: An optional, free personal account allows access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).
- Times Digital Archive: 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowThe Times of London archive includes every complete page of every issue--full-text searchable--every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
- British Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in Britain between the 18th and mid-20th centuries, British Newspapers provides a range of publications reflecting the social, political and cultural events of the times. Though the primary focus of this collection is the 19th Century (and the landing page is labeled as such), this resource includes papers from 1714-1950's.