Art 102: Foundation 2-Dimensional Media

You project asks you to find an article on the subject that interests you that does not come from an art research database.

Our complete list of research databases is here.

Use the subject menu on the database list to pick the subject that best matches your interest. For example, you might choose "history" or "environmental studies" or "religion."

This will pull up a list of recommended databases for research in that area of study.

If you're not sure where to start, email Karen at olson61@stolaf.edu and ask her to recommended a database for your topic!

Many of our databases provide full text access to the materials they index.  Look for a button or link that says full text.

If the full text is not directly available from the database you are in, you will see a FindIt! button. The FindIt! button searches Catalyst to see if we have access to the article in a different database.

If you click the FindIt! button, one of three things will happen.

1. You will be rerouted directly to the article.

2. You will taken to a Catalyst record for the article, which will provide options for accessing it in a different way.

This article is available in print over at Carleton. I could ask Carleton to send the appropriate volume to Rolvaag so I could read the article.

This article is available online in two different databases. Click your preferred database link to see the article.

3. You will be taken to a Catalyst record that says we do not have access to the article.  See "Requesting Materials from Other Libraries" for instructions on how to make a Resource Sharing request for these materials.