Hong Kierkegaard Library LibGuide
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Locating Items
Once you have selected relevant item(s) from your Catalyst search results, the item availability and locations can be readily identified by means of the green boxes, as illustrated below:
For example, "Online Access" indicates that there is a digital copy of the item which can be accessed online using your St. Olaf username/password. Please note that items belonging to either the St. Olaf Rolvaag Library or Carleton College Gould Library collections will also appear here; however, visiting scholar access to these materials will be limited to those who have obtained a "community card". See the "Access" section of this LibGuide for more information.
Items belonging to one of the Kierkegaard Library collections will indicate this; in the example above, the second location listed is a St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Kierk 2 location. To help with locating items you should note both the collection location and the item's call number; in this example the item call number is B4376 .G28 2005.
All of our materials are either located in Steensland Hall or in the Rolvaag Library's Special Collections Vault (i.e., "Rare Books Room"). You can learn more about our collection locations below.
Kierkegaard Library Collection Locations
Collections located in Steensland Hall can be divided into our "upstairs" and "downstairs" floors.
Upstairs in Steensland Hall you will find four collections:
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Kierk 1
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Kierk 2
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Related Thinkers
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Research Sets
Downstairs in Steensland Hall you find six collections:
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Copy 2 (Lower Level)
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Danica (Lower Level)
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Dissertations
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Oversize (Back Wall)
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Periodicals
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Reference
The oldest and most rare materials in our collections are stored outside of Steensland Hall, in a climate-controlled vault located in the basement of Rolvaag Library. Formerly known as the "Rare Books Room," the materials in these collections include our Pre-1856 books and the Hong Working Library materials. Due to their value and often fragile conditions, these items may be viewed by appointment only; please see the "Access" section of this LibGuide for more information.
Collections located in the vault include:
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room General
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Hong Refugee Archive
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Boxes
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Humidor
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Kierk1
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Pre-1856
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Reference
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room HVH Working Library
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Rare Books Room Julia Watkin
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Kierk 1
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Kierk 2
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Oversize
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Pre-1856
St. Olaf Rolvaag Library Kierkegaard Library Rare Books Room Related Thinkers