- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- RAMAT 110: Race Matters, First-Year Seminar
- Recommended Resources
RAMAT 110: Race Matters, First-Year Seminar
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Student Success
Dawna Hendricks
Contact:
302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3642
Website
Recommended Resources for Race Matters
Recommended Reference Databases
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windo
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference. -
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windo
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Recommended Reference Books
-
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2013Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.
Encyclopedia of African-American Politics
Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2021This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.Publication Date: 2014Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.Call Number: E184.A1 M815 2011 (Reference Room)Publication Date: 2012Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.Call Number: e-book or E169.12 .A419 1994 (Reference Room)Covers the years 1900-1999. Choose a volume or use the "Search within publication" box in the upper right-hand corner.Pre-1600 to 1900. "Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history." Choose a volume or use the "Search within publication" box in the upper right-hand corner.
Recommended Databases for Primary Sources
-
African American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.
-
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
-
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of TIME Magazine from 1923-2000. A chronicle of 20th-century history, current events, business and politics.
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.
-
Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windo
Women's Magazine Archive offers consumer magazines aimed at a female readership. Recognized as primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
Recommended Databases for News & Magazine Articles
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
-
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Additional Database Recommendations
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
-
Politics Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full-text databases covering political science and public policy. Includes PAIS Index (1914 - current), Policy File Index (1990 - current), Political Science Database (1985 - current), and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current).
-
Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text databases covering sociology and social services. Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987 - current), Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current), and Sociology Database (1985 - current).