Dance 246: Dance in the United States

LibKey Nomad

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

Be sure to check the Online Resources tab on the left for links to streaming video sources available from sources outside St. Olaf College Libraries.

Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of dance performances and documentaries. Includes materials recorded 1955-present.

JVC Video Anthology of World Music & Dance -- the original dance footage anthology, compiled circa 1989.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of documentaries on American history; search "dance" or for specific genres to find dance footage. NOTE: this database contains footage of Native American dance that may not have been filmed with their consent.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States; search "dance" to find dance footage.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from the Film Media Group's collection. Covers a wide variety of subject areas. Search by "dance" or specific genre to find footage.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial newsreel series. Search "dance" or by specific genre to find dance footage.

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio (plus liner notes and cover art) from independent record labels and sound archives. Emphasis on American music in many genres.
Music Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to world music, some popular music, and western art music. Often includes liner notes.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming western classical music; often includes liner notes.
Naxos Musical Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Streaming jazz recordings, often with liner notes.