- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance 246: Dance in the United States
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dance 246: Dance in the United States
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Why Use Reference Sources?
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are great for starting your research. They provide authoritative definitions of terms, biographies of influential people, and histories of styles and genres. They will help you learn the specific language surrounding a topic, so that you can develop better search terms to use in Catalyst or the research databases. Many will also include bibliographies listing other sources you might want to consult.
Dance & Music
Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicEach volume covers a different portion of the globe.
International Encyclopedia of DanceAn essential starting point for your research!
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansDetails on composers, musicians, and musical styles. Best for Western art music and dance.
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers (3 volumes)Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV1785.A1 B74 1999 / Rolvaag Ref: GV1785.A1 F54 2011 / Rolvaag Ref: GV1785.A1 F54 2021Representing a wide range of dance genres and styles, each entry locates a living choreographer in the context of contemporary dance and explores their impact.
Encyclopedia of Native American Music of North AmericaCall Number: Music Library ML102.N37 K45 2013Documents the surprisingly varied musical practices among North America's First Peoples, both historically and in the modern context. Showcases how musicians with First Peoples' heritage are influencing modern musical forms including native flute, orchestral string playing, gospel, and hip hop.
Film Choreographers and Dance DirectorsCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV1779 .B55 1997Includes biographical material for 970 choreographers who worked in nearly 3,500 films.
International Dictionary of BalletCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV 1585.I57 1993Includes entries on individual artists, ballets, and ballet companies.
International Dictionary of Modern DanceCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: GV 1585.B46All aspects of modern dance, including biographical entries and major movements and styles.
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical TheaterCall Number: Music ML100 .Q44 2004Showcases composers, singers, musicians, dancers, and choreographers across eras and styles.
General Culture & History
Online
Asian American History and CultureCovers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from Asia and the Pacific Islands, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesBiographical articles on Latinx cultural figures in the US.
St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop CultureExamines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: E185.E54 1995Provides biographical information as well as more general topical articles.
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular CultureCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: E184.S75 O97 2005 (4v)Good overview articles with substantive bibliographies.
