- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Theater Subject Guide
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Theater Subject Guide
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Use these reference sources to find biographical information as well as introductions and overviews to theater topics. You can find many more theater reference books by searching in Catalyst using keywords for your general subject AND the phrase (dictionary OR encyclopedia), like this:
"latin america" AND theater AND (dictionary OR encyclopedia)
Cambridge Companions (series)The Cambridge Companions series feature overviews on theatrical topics, including Greco-Roman theater, Victorian theater, and African American theater.
The Cambridge Guide to TheatreCall Number: REFERENCE PN2035 .C27 1995Covers all major playwrights, works, traditions, theories, companies, venues and events. AVAILABLE IN PRINT ONLY.
Historical Dictionary of Theater (series)A collection of topical dictionaries on theater, including German theater, Russian theater, and postmodern theater.
The Methuen Drama Dictionary of the TheatreCoves the international spectrum of theatre with particular emphasis on the UK and USA.; includes biographical information on playwrights, actors and directors, entries on theaters and companies, explanation of technical terms and theatrical genres, and synopses of major plays.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceProvides information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present.
