Theater 380: Who Owns the Arts

Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

This page, from the Library of Congress, is VERY helpful for understanding how laws are written down.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and law information. Business coverage includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, plus company information and other materials. Law coverage includes encyclopedia articles, law reviews and journals, and primary sources (an annotated version of the US Code, federal and state court cases, and other materials).
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Full-text US Congressional documents, bills, and hearings; public laws and legislative histories; and information on committees and members of Congress. Coverage extends back to the Ninety-First Congress, 1969-present.

When you want to see the text of the law as originally passed by Congress:

If you know:

To locate the law check:

1. Public or private law number (e.g., Pub. L. No. 108-79 or Priv. L. No. 108-2) or Statutes at Large citation (e.g., 117 Stat. 972).

Congressional Publications database (Search by Number)

OR, on the open web,

GPO’s FDsys (for public or private laws) or Congress.gov (public laws)

2. The name of the law.

Congressional Publications database (Basic Search)

OR, on the open web:

When you want to locate the law as codified in the United States Code:

*If you know:*	*To locate the law check:*
1. *Public or private law number (e.g., Pub. L. No. 108-79 or Priv. L. No. 108-2) or Statutes at Large* citation (e.g., 117 Stat. 972).**	Westlaw database (search USCA Tables)
2. The name of the law.	Westlaw database (USCA Popular Name Table)
3. The subject of the law.	Browse or search the United States Code on the OLRC website.