Supporting Diversity in the Music Experience

We have many more dictionaries and encyclopedias than those listed below. To find more reference sources, search Catalyst for your topic keywords and the phrase (dictionary OR encyclopedia) in parentheses, like this:

"Latin America" AND music AND (dictionary OR encyclopedia)

We have many more bibliographies than those listed below. Search for them in Catalyst by searching for your keywords and the word bibliography, as shown below.

women music bibliography

Be sure to look at the dates of the bibliographies to see how recent they are.  You may be able to find more recent sources by consulting our music databases or by looking at the online resources in the next box.

When consulting discographies or other lists of recordings of indigenous music, please bear in mind that recordings in the past may not have been made with the permission of the people being recorded.

• Karen's Giant Spreadsheet of Composer Diversity Websites -- a list of 60+ websites Karen consults when selecting new music by composers from historically underrepresented groups; please email Karen if you have suggestions of new sites to add or if links are broken.

Some of the sites Karen consults frequently from this spreadsheet include:

• Institute for Composer Diversity -- click the "search" button at the top to access their databases for composers, art songs, choral works, band works, orchestral works, and more.
• Diversity in Brass Music from Last Row Music -- lists of repertoire by woman composers and by Black composers
• No Broken Links -- Google spreadsheets for woodwind repertoire by composers from historically underrepresented groups
• Sphinx Catalogs  -- music for strings by Latin American composers
• A Seat at the Piano -- piano repertoire by BIPOC and woman composers
• Music By Black Composers -- repertoire lists of music by Black composers, currently strongest in string repertoire; see also their directories of living and historic Black composers
• SongHelix -- originally designed to track art songs by topic, it now also permits searching by composer identities

• Alex Shapiro's Programming Resources -- includes pages on woman composers, LGBTQIA2s Composers, and Black, Latino, Asian, and Indian composers