- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 239: Javanese Gamelan
- Research Databases
Music 239: Javanese Gamelan
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Research Databases
Research databases are often better than Catalyst for finding scholarly articles. They are often subject-specific and include materials not immediately available at St. Olaf, but that we can get through Resource Sharing.
Music & Performance Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a bibliography of music articles, collections, and books, offers researchers and music scholars thousands of records in music research. Records are added and updated on a monthly basis.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on music. Covers materials published 1874-present.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowInitiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College, this is a prime research tool for students of theatre and the performing arts.
Asian Studies Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.