Religion Subject Guide

LibKey Nomad

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

Basic Sources for Judaism

GENERAL

Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd Edition. 22v. [Reference: DS102.8 .E52 2007] or online

The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion. online

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism. [Reference: BM50 .E63 2002] or online

The Encyclopedia of Judaism. 2v. [BM50 .E64 1999]

The Blackwell Companion to Judaism. [BM42 .B54 2000]

Readers' Guide to Judaism. [BM50 .R43 2000]

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period. 2v. [Reference: BM50 .D525 1996]

The Jewish Holidays: A Guide and Commentary. [Reference: BM890 .S76 1985]

Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend online

SCRIPTURES

Tanakh: The Holy Scriptures. [Reference: BS896 .A1 P45 1985]
Torah + Nevi'im (The Prophets) + Kethuvim (The Writings)

The Jewish Study Bible. [Reference: BS895 .J4 2004]
also available in Oxford Biblical Studies Online

PRAYER

The Koren Siddur. [Reference: BM674.243 .S242 2009]

COMMENTARIES

The Torah: A Modern Commentary [BS1225.3 .P55]

The JPS Torah Commentary (series)
     Genesis [Reference: BS1235.3 .S325 1989]
     Exodus [Reference: BS1245.3 .S27 1991]
     Leviticus [Reference: BS1253.3 .L48 1989]
     Numbers [Reference: BS1265.3 .M55 1990]
     Deuteronomy [Reference: BS1275.3 .T54 1996]

RABBINICS

Introduction to the Talmud and Midrash. [Reference: BM503.5 .S72 1992]

Encyclopedia Talmudica. 4v. [Reference: BM500.5 .E613 1969]

The Babylonian Talmud. 18v. [Reference: BM499.5 .E5 1961]

Talmud Bavli. 72v. [Stacks: BM499.5 .E5 2000]

Midrash Rabbah. 10v. [Reference: BM517 .M6413 1983]

Key Sources

Encyclopedia Judaica
Rolvaag Ref: DS102.8 .E52 2007
The Jewish Study Bible
Rolvaag Ref: BS895 .J4 2004
Introduction to the Talmud and Midrash
Rolvaag Ref: BM503.5 .S72 1992

Databases

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
A "selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages."
ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.