Research Librarian
Key Sources
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian ChurchRolvaag Ref: BR95 .O9 1997
The Oxford Companion to Christian ThoughtRolvaag Ref: BR95 .O64 2000
The Complete Parallel BibleRolvaag Ref: BS125 .B5 1993
The Anchor Bible DictionaryRolvaag Ref: BS440 .A54 1992
Basic Sources for Christianity
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. [Reference: BR95 .O9 1997] or online
The Encyclopedia of Christianity. 4v. [Reference: BR95 .E8913 1999]
World Christian Encyclopedia. 2v. [Reference: BR157 .W67 2001]
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought. [Reference: BR95 .O64 2000]
The Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. 2v. [Reference: BR162.2 .E53 1997]
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 15v. [Reference: BX841 .N44 2001]
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. 4v. [BR302.8 .O93 1996] or online
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism. 4v. [Reference: BX4811.3 .E53 2004]
Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church. [Reference: BX230 .P76 1996]
The Coptic Encyclopedia. 8v. [Reference: BX130.5 .C66 1991]
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics. [Reference: BJ1251 .B54 2004]
The New Westminster Dictionary of Christian Spirituality. [Reference: BV4488 .N49 2005]
The Oxford History of Christian Worship. [Reference: BV15 .O95 2006]
Religion Past & Present: Encyclopedia of Theology and Religion (RPP). [Reference: BL31 .R4317 2007]
Translation of the German work Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). St. Olaf is acquiring each volume as it is being published.
WRITINGS
The Complete Parallel Bible: New Revised Standard Version, Revised English Bible, New American Bible, New Jerusalem Bible.
Four translations of the Bible are printed side-by-side in this volume, allowing you to compare translations using a single book.
[R.R. BS125 .B5 1993]
The People's Bible (NRSV)
"Introductory essays highlight issues of ethnicity, gender, and identity in interpreting the Bible."
[R.R. BS191.5 .A1 2008b M56 2008]
Holy Bible (King James Version)
[R.R. BS185 1976 .N3]
BIBLE -- STUDY AIDS
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Full-text reference tools in biblical studies. Includes multiple translations of the Bible with annotations, commentary, and concordances, plus encyclopedia articles, definitions, images, maps, and other materials. Users can view biblical passages and commentaries side-by-side.
The NRSV Concordance Unabridged: Including the Apocryphal/Deuteronomical Books
[Reference: BS425 .K645 1991]
The HarperCollins' Bible Dictionary [Reference: BS440 .H237 1996]
Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6v. [Reference: BS440 .A54 1992]
Gospel Parallels: A Comparison of the Synoptic Gospels with Alternative Readings from the Manuscripts and Noncanonical Parallels [Reference: BS2560 .T48 1992]
Oxford Bible Atlas [Reference Atlas: BS630 .M35 2007]
HarperCollins Bible Commentary. [Reference: BS491.2 .H37 2000] - cross-referenced with the HC Bible Dictionary.
Anchor Bible commentaries for each book of the Bible [Reference: BS192.2 .A1]
Indexes & Databases
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- Religious & Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles in religion and theology. Covers materials published 1958-present.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, and software in Old Testament studies. Covers materials published 1978-present.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, book reviews, and software in New Testament studies. Covers materials published 1985-present.