Philosophy Subject Guide

Research & Writing Tutors

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

Basic Reference Sources

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (online)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (online)
Call Number: Reference: B41 .C35 1999
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: Reference: B51 .E53 2006 (10v)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (online)
Call Number: Reference: B51 .R68 1998 (10v)
Dictionary of World Philosophy (online)
Call Number: Reference: B41 .I26 2001
The Cambridge History of Philosophy (online)
Search Catalyst for paper copies of volumes in this series located in the philosophy book collection on the 5th floor of Rolvaag.

More basic sources (narrower focus)

There are many encyclopedias and dictionaries devoted to various aspects of philosophy available to you at St. Olaf. Doing a search in Catalyst using the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" along with a branch or name for a kind of philosophy will bring a host of results. Here are some examples:

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (online)
Encyclopedia of Empiricism (online)
Encyclopedia of Ethics (online)
Call Number: Reference: BJ63 .E45 2001 (3v)
A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (online)
The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy

Companions & Handbooks

Several presses in the English-speaking world such as Oxford, Cambridge, Blackwell, etc. have published highly useful reference works in different areas of philosophy. They are usually titled using the word "companion" or "handbook", e.g. A Companion to Metaphysics or The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy. Click on the links below to find these items in Catalyst: