Statistical Information

LibKey Nomad

they/them

Contact:

302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

Europa World Plus
Economic, political, geographic, and statistical data by country (throughout the world); maps; introductory essays on a wide range of regional issues; and lists of sources for further research. Also available in print.

World Factbook
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency, the World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Political Handbook of the World 2022-2023
The Political Handbook of the World 2022-2023 provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information, with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide.
The Stateman's Yearbook 2025
This classic reference work presents a political, economic and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis.

Constitute Project
A collection of links to constitutions, charters, amendments and other governmental information. In English and source languages.
List of National Constitutions (Wikipedia)
It's Wikipedia, so it's subject to change, but look here for updates and revisions to national constitutions that may not be reflected elsewhere.

Amnesty International World Report 2022/2023
The Amnesty International Report 2022/23 documents the state of human rights in 149 countries and territories in 2023. Earlier reports are available online and in the library. You can also browse Amnesty International's latest research or publications by country.
Human Rights Watch World Report 2025
These annual reports summarize human rights conditions in dozens of countries and territories worldwide. Annual reports for 1989-2024 are available online. See also other HRW occasional publications.
U.S. State Department Human Rights Reports
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements. 2016-2023 reports are available on the updated site. To see archived reports from 1999-2015, click here.

Human Development Report 2025
Human Development Reports (HDRs) have been released most years since 1990 and have explored different themes through the human development approach. Published by the Human Development Report Office for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), you can access the Human Development Reports from 1990 to 2024 at the UN Human Development Report Archives.
World Development Report 2024
The World Development Report is an annual report released every year since 1978. Each WDR provides in-depth analysis of a specific aspect of economic development. Published by World Bank, you can access the World Development Reports from 1978 to 2023 at the World Development Reports Archives.
World Bank World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators (WDI) is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,400 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years. To see the World Bank’s former annual compilations of data about development, visit the World Development Indicators, 2000-2017.
Human Development Index
The Human Development Index (HDI) is a summary measure of average achievement in key dimensions of human development: a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable and having a decent standard of living.