Music 282: Vocal Solo Literature II

Covers songs for solo voice and piano by American composers from the mid-18th through the early 21st centuries. An annotated bibliography with approximately 2,850 numbered entries, including data on the poet, publisher and copyright date, key, vocal range, vocal tessitura, meter(s), tempo, length, difficulty of vocal line and piano score, most suitable voice type, mood and subject of the text, and brief description of the vocal line and piano score. It also includes commentary on special difficulties for performers and possible uses of the song in programming.

Annotated bibliography of nearly 2,300 vocal works. Provides composer, title, language, author of text, vocal range, tessitura, difficulty level, voice type, and other pertinent notes. Organized into 12 chapters: (1) art song in English; (2) folk songs and spirituals; (3) art song in Italian; (4) German Lieder; (5) French melodie; (6) musical theater; (7) opera; (8) oratorios, cantatas and masses; (9) recital groups; (10) Russian art songs; (11) Spanish art songs; and (12) voice with orchestra and solo cantatas. Composer, title, poet, range, and difficulty level indices.

Annotated bibliography of more than 5,600 musical settings of American poetry by more than 100 poets. Most of the settings are songs and choral music. Provides composer with dates, source of text, composer, title, publication information, scoring, discography, and other information. Index to composers and titles of literary works.

Annotated bibliography of 13,055 vocal works that drawn upon British romantic literature for text, including the output of Blake, Burns, Byron, Coleridge, Keats, Scott, Shelley, Wordsworth, and others. Arranged in order by author of text and title of poem. Provides composer, title, publication information, title of collection, musical form, scoring, and other significant notes. Indices of titles and first lines and composers in separate accompanying volume.

Annotated bibliography of 6,497 vocal works that drawn upon British early and mid-Victorian literature for text, including the output of Elizabeth and Robert Browning, Dickens, Thomas Moore, Christina Rossetti, Tennyson, and others. Arranged in order by author of text and title of poem. Provides composer with birth and death dates, title, publication information, title of collection, scoring, and other significant notes. Indices of composers and titles and first lines.

Annotated bibliography of 7,728 vocal works that drawn upon British late-Victorian and modern British literature for text, including the output of de la Mare, Hardy, Joyce, Robert Louis Stevenson, Yeats, and others. Arranged in order by author of text and title of poem. Provides composer, title, publication information, title of collection, scoring, discography, and other notes. Indices of composers.

Covers songs with English texts by American composers, written for solo voice and piano composed 1980-2008, covering 1,000 songs by nearly 200 composers. Entries contain complete biographical and bibliographical information, with major works and links to print resources and composer websites when available. Also includes information on the vocal range, musical style, and appropriate voice type for individual songs. Concludes with a discography, bibliography, and indexes for poets, song cycle, title, voice type, and level of difficulty.

Also available online. A practical guide to the art songs of Sweden, Norway, and Denmark, enabling teachers and students to render transcriptions of Swedish, Norwegian, and Danish texts into the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA). Includes sample IPA transcriptions and translations, as well as a website link with native speakers reciting selected song texts.

Annotated bibliography of 21,362 vocal works that drawn upon the writings of Shakespeare for text. The first three volumes cover: vol. 1: All's Well That Ends Well and Love's Labour's Lost; vol. 2: Macbeth and The Taming of the Shrew; and vol. 3: The Tempest, The Two Nobel Kinsmen, sonnets, poems, commemorative pieces, and anthologies. Provides composer, title, publication information, scoring, and other significant notes. Vol. 4 contains four indices: (1) Shakespeare's titles and lines, (2) titles of musical works, (3) composers, arrangers, and editors, and (4) librettists and other writers. Vol. 5 contains various bibliographies relating to Shakespeare and music.

An annotated bibliography of ca. 2,800 selections of vocal chamber music. Works must include at least one voice and one instrument other than keyboard or guitar; includes choral music. Provides composer dates, title, publisher, year of publication, and scoring. Includes an index by scoring.