- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- MGMT 256: Entrepreneurship
- Databases to Try
MGMT 256: Entrepreneurship
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Key Databases for Management Studies
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowBasic company information for over 20 million North American and 70 million global companies (directory information from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet) as well as industry profiles. Also includes WhitePages data allowing for people and business search including reverse phone lookup. The Global Corporate Family Tree feature places companies into their full ownership context. Customized reports and lists can be downloaded to Excel, Word and PDF formats.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new windowFull-text business and law information. Business coverage includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, plus company information and other materials. Law coverage includes encyclopedia articles, law reviews and journals, and primary sources (an annotated version of the US Code, federal and state court cases, and other materials).
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowFull-text regional US and Canadian business journals, newswires, and newspapers. Covers materials published 1990-present.
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button).
Social Explorer
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Some Definitions
Trade Journal - a publication that is published for those involved in a particular industry or trade. Some examples would be Billboard, Advertising Age, Accounting Today, or Restaurant Report.
Company Reports - usually a detailed report that provides the following information about a company: type of business, business address, phone, and web address, ticker (if a public company), products, subsidiaries, top executives, revenues, etc. Hoovers, a subsidiary of Dun & Bradstreet, is one of the primary companies that creates these reports.
Industry profiles - a report that summarizes the state of a particular industry. Typically these reports explain the current business climate for the particular industry, how it has performed and what to expect moving forward. It also names the top companies in the industry discussed and give very brief information about them. Quite often a SWOT analyses is also included.
SWOT Analysis - a brief description of the Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats for a particular business or industry. Sometimes referred to as a SWOT Matrix.
NAICS and SIC codes -- a system that categorizes business enterprises by including them in a hierarchical structure and assigning a unique number to each industry. Some databases may give the option of searching by NAICS or SIC codes. Most company reports include them so you can note which codes apply to the company you are researching, then search using the codes to find other businesses that fit the same industry category. NAICS stands for North American Industry Classification System; SIC stands for Standard Industrial Classification. Check this web site for more info: NAICS Lookup