Africa and the African Diaspora Subject Guide

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. Contents include photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages.

Books, pamphlets and broadsides that hold a record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

Primary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).

Includes award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.

Includes collections of books, serials, and primary sources on "the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions."

Umbra Search makes African American History more broadly and freely accessible by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the country.

Provides full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century.