Race and Ethnic Studies Subject Guide

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Primary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.

Primary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).

The Fortunoff Archive’s collection consists of over 4,400 testimonies of Holocaust survivors, witnesses and liberators. Please note: first-time users will need to register for an account. Please follow instructions here (scroll down for video instructions on how to register on the Aviary platform).

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.

Full-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.

Primary source materials on Native American history, including photos, census documents, and treaties.

Primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century.

Umbra Search makes African American History more broadly and freely accessible by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the country.