Theater 271: History of Theater since 1700
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Theater Reference Works
Reference works can provide invaluable background information as you begin your research. Many often include useful bibliographies that can guide you to helpful secondary sources.
-
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Call Number: Ref PN2035 .C27 1995Covers all major playwrights, works, traditions, theories, companies, venues and events; not available online.
Cambridge University Press publishes over 200 guides to various theatrical topics, many available online. See the list here.
-
Historical Dictionary of French Theater
ISBN: 0810849399Available online; click link above.
Relates the history of the French theater through a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, trends, genres, concepts, and literary and historical developments that played a central role in the evolution of French theater. -
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Call Number: Ref PN2035 .O92 2003Provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity, from ancient Greek drama to the latest developments in stage design. -
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
Call Number: Ref PN2035 .C65 2002ISBN: 9780826466747Also available online; click link above.
Contains over 2500 entries, which are international in scope, about 20th century theatre.
Interdisciplinary Reference Works
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.