Theater 271: History of Theater since 1700

Articles from scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, and newspapers, plus film reviews, images, and books. Useful if your topic crosses over into filmed plays.

Initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College, this is a prime research tool for students of theatre and the performing arts.

Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.

Full-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.

Publication information for plays written across historical periods. Users can search by title, author, subject, or genre, with the option of limiting results by cast size.

Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field.

Black Drama, Second Edition contains over 1,400 full-text plays from the 1800s to the present day. Included are plays of Langston Hughes, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zora Neale Hurston, James Weldon Johnson, Ira Aldridge, Shirley Graham, W.E.B. DuBois, and others.

Full-text primary and secondary sources in literary studies. Primary materials include British and American poetry from the eighth century to the contemporary period, drama from 1280 to 1915, and prose from 1500 to 1914, plus streaming video of poets reading poetry and dramatized audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays. Secondary materials include major dictionaries and encyclopedias in literary studies, author bibliographies, and scholarly journal articles.

More than half of the plays included in North American Indian Drama are previously unpublished, almost all are hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible. The collection represents many Native American groups across the United States and Canada.

North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

North American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 female playwrights, along with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Contains over 1,500 plays from the 20th century, as well as playbills, photos, and other related information.

Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.

Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.

Scholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.

Books, scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in Latin American studies, from scholars working in the humanities and social sciences. Covers materials published 1935-present.