LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Per the Puffin
they/them
Contact:
302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Books
Big data: A revolution that will transform how we live, work, and think
Call Number: QA76.9.D343 M396 2013
Practical data science for information professionals
Available Online
The Data Science Design Manual
Available Online
Data science tools : R, Excel, KNIME & OpenOffice
Available Online
Digital Libraries: the Era of Big Data and Data Science
Available Online
The Essentials of Data Science: Knowledge Discovery Using R
Available Online
Podcasts & Media Resources
- The Data Whisperer Blogs & PoscastDiscussions on issues and real-world situations involving data, data science, and data management
Industry & Workforce
- Towards Data SciencePosting of data science publications, concepts, projects, & ideas.
- GeeksforGeeksTutorials, career information, courses, and projects related to the data science industry
Journals & Archives
- Archives of Data Science - Series A & BSeries A - "publishes papers of short to medium length in the emerging field of data science."
Series B - "(Data Sets, Algorithms, Processes, and Services) covers scientific articles on methods, algorithms, and processes over the life cycle of a single dataset." --Descriptions from Archives of Data Science - Data Science Journal"The CODATA Data Science Journal is a peer-reviewed, open access, electronic journal, publishing papers on the management, dissemination, use and reuse of research data and databases across all research domains, including science, technology, the humanities and the arts. The scope of the journal includes descriptions of data systems, their implementations and their publication, applications, infrastructures, software, legal, reproducibility and transparency issues, the availability and usability of complex datasets, and with a particular focus on the principles, policies and practices for open data." --Description from Data Science Journal website
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new windowData sets in many subject areas, including crime and law enforcement, federal assistance, military deployment and deaths, economics, health, and demographics. Includes Data Planet Statistical Datasets, Data-Planet EASI Market Planner, and Data-Planet China Data Center.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, geographic, and statistical data by country (throughout the world); maps; introductory essays on a wide range of regional issues; and lists of sources for further research. Also available in print.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
Mind-Mapping For Research
Mind-mapping is a quick and easy technique to plan and create data-driven projects. Create a defined research question and use this as a template to pin-point resources needed.