- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Environmental Studies 399: Seminar in Environmental Studies
- Find Encyclopedia Entries
Environmental Studies 399: Seminar in Environmental Studies
Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Search Catalyst for Reference Entries
Search Catalyst for reference entries (encyclopedia and dictionary entries) about your topic. Choose a subject-specific encyclopedia to get background information about your topic.
Not sure how to search Catalyst for reference entries? Watch this 1m50sec video.
Search Online Encyclopedias
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and encyclopedias, plus case studies, primary source documents, images, podcasts, videos, statistics, and other materials in environmental studies. Users can browse by topic/issue and geographical area (using an interactive map) in addition to searching by keyword.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability (10-Vol. Set)Call Number: (Rolvaag Reference) GE140 .B47 2010Publication Date: 2010
Vol. 2: The Business of Sustainability"Contains rich analysis of how sustainability is being factored into industries across the globe, with enlightening case studies of businesses serving as agents of change."
Vol. 6: Measurements, Indicators, and Research Methods for Sustainability"Presents a thorough and accessible overview of the ways in which sustainability is charted worldwide."
Vol. 10: The Future of Sustainability"Updated articles on key concepts and core beliefs of sustainability, the practices and methods to achieve it - and the ways in which different areas of the world adopt them or not - offer readers a comprehensive overview of volumes 1 through 9."
Openly Editable Encyclopedia
- Wikipedia"The free encyclopedia that anyone can edit."
Tips for Wise Wikipedia Use
- Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
- Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
- Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
- Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.