FYS 120B: Exploring the Deep

Need a Boost?

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics

This guide is designed to help you locate, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in FYS 120. For further assistance, you can:

Schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu
Schedule an appointment or drop in to talk with a peer Research & Writing Tutor (7-9pm, Sunday-Thursday, Rolvaag Library)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Education Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, as well as the full-text Education Database. Together, they provide coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full text from hundreds of leading education journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews in philosophy. Covers materials published 1940-present.

A-Z List of St. Olaf Databases
An alphabetical list of all databases at St. Olaf. Filter the list by "subject" or "type" to find databases focused on particular academic disciplines or types of sources (articles, images, newspapers, etc.)

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the aquatic sciences. Covers materials published 1971-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, maps, reports, and conference papers in the geosciences, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Covers materials published 1669-present on the geology of North America, 1933-present on the geology of the rest of the world.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.