History 370: The Early U.S. Republic

Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Primary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).

Full-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.

Journal articles, books, dissertations, newspaper articles, NGO reports, web sites, and other materials in women's and gender studies. Covers materials published 1972-present, with some coverage extending earlier.

Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.

Scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.

Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.

Journal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.

Full-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on music. Covers materials published 1874-present.

Magazine and journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, news items, obituaries, and other materials on classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Covers materials published 1970-present. Also available in print.

Scholarly journal articles, books, book reviews, and other materials in economics. Covers materials published 1969-present.