Kinesiology 291A: Women's Health Across the Lifespan
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in Kinesiology 291A: Women's Health Across the Lifespan. For further assistance, you can schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu.
Recommended Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
-
Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional journal articles, popular and trade magazine articles, and other materials on biomechanics, coaching, dance, facilities, health, kinesiology, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, and sports medicine and psychology. Covers materials published 1970-present.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
-
BrowZine This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is the preferred service that researchers around the world use to browse, read and follow the scholarly journals available from their library.
Comparing Popular and Scholarly Articles
| Articles in Popular Magazines and Newspapers | Articles in Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals |
| Written by journalists or magazine staff | Written by experts affiliated with a research institution (university, hospital, etc.) |
| Purpose is to inform, persuade, or entertain the general public | Purpose is to communicate research findings to other experts |
| Use language understood by the general public | Use precise, discipline-specific language |
| Do not include a formal bibliography, works cited, or references list | Always include a bibliography, works cited, and/or references list |
| Often include bright, colorful photos | Often display data in black-and-white charts/graphs |
| Evaluated for publication by a magazine editor | Have been evaluated and recommend for publication by other experts in the peer-review process |
| Popular magazines are often published weekly | Scholarly journals are often published monthly or quarterly |
Types of Scholarly Articles
Research articles (also known as primary literature):
- Publish original research findings
- Include lab experiments, field observations, clinical trials, etc.
Review articles:
- Summarize existing knowledge on a specific topic and recommend areas of future research
- Include reviews, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, etc.
Want to learn more about the different types of research articles and review articles? The Journal of Integrated Health Sciences has a great breakdown on their website.