MCD Resources

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Books, pamphlets and broadsides that hold a record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

Primary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.

Full-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.

Primary source materials on Native American history, including photos, census documents, and treaties.

Women's Magazine Archive offers consumer magazines aimed at a female readership. Recognized as primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.

Full-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.

Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field.

Black Drama, Second Edition contains over 1,400 full-text plays from the 1800s to the present day. Included are plays of Langston Hughes, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zora Neale Hurston, James Weldon Johnson, Ira Aldridge, Shirley Graham, W.E.B. DuBois, and others.

The most comprehensive collection of literature in its field, Latino Literature has over 100,000 pages of plays, fiction, and poetry, as well as a large collection of supplementary materials.

More than half of the plays included in North American Indian Drama are previously unpublished, almost all are hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible. The collection represents many Native American groups across the United States and Canada.