Middle East Studies 202: Middle Eastern Cinema
LibKey Nomad
Director of Research & Instructional Technology
Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media StudiesOver 300 annotated bibliographies on topics in cinema and media studies, compiled by well-regarded scholars in the field. See, for example:
• Film Festivals
• Transnational and Diasporic Cinemas
• Turkish Cinema (Cinema and Media Studies)
• Turkish Cinema (Islamic Studes)
Reference Sources for Middle Eastern Cinemas
Arab Filmmakers of the Middle East: A DictionaryRoy Armes | Indiana University Press, 2010. In this landmark dictionary, Roy Armes details the scope and diversity of filmmaking across the Arab Middle East. Listing more than 550 feature films by more than 250 filmmakers, and short and documentary films by another 900 filmmakers, this volume covers the film production in Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and the Gulf States.
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African FilmEdited by Oliver Leaman | Routledge, 2014. The Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film is divided into nine chapters covering the history and major issues of film within the Middle East and North Africa. The areas covered are: Central Asia, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, The Magreb, Palestine, and Turkey.
Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers, rev. and updated ed.Rebecca Hillauer | American University in Cairo Press, 2005
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern CinemaTerri Ginsberg and Chris Lippard | Scarecrow Press, 2010. The Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema provides entries on significant individuals, films, companies, and events in the history of Middle Eastern cinemas.- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, rev. ed.Edited by John L. Esposito | Oxford University Press, 2009. Written by Roy Armes, the entry on "Cinema" is an excellent, brief overview of Middle Eastern cinema.
The Routledge Dictionary of Turkish CinemaComing soon! Edited by Gönül Dönmez-Colin | Routledge, 2016. The first critical and analytical dictionary of Turkish Cinema, this book provides a comprehensive overview of Turkish cinema from its beginnings to the present day.
