Nursing 212: Foundations of Professional Nursing
Need a Boost?
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you locate, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in Nursing 212. For further assistance, you can:
- Schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu
- Schedule an appointment or drop in to talk with a peer Research & Writing Tutor (7-9pm, Sunday-Thursday, Rolvaag Library)
Databases for Nursing Literature
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowSupporting students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals, ProQuest's Nursing & Allied Health Premium offers over 700 scholarly journals, 350+ training videos, and provides a unique immersive user experience.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
Types of Review Articles
- Overview of Systematic Reviews from Brown UniversityTrying to understand the differences between literature reviews, systematic reviews, meta analyses, and more? This guide from Brown provides a great overview of the differences between and definitions of various reviews.
Cochrane Reviews
What is a Cochrane review?
As defined on their website, "A Cochrane Review is a systematic review of research in health care and health policy that is published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews." Cochrane is widely respected and publishes thousands of rigorous systematic reviews. However, Cochrane is far from the only source of systematic reviews; you can also find high-quality systematic reviews published in scholarly journals.
Where can I find Cochrane reviews?
You will often see Cochrane reviews in PubMed and CINAHL search results. When searching in either PubMed or CINAHL, you can use advanced search tools to search specifically for Cochrane reviews.
There is also a separate database specifically for Cochrane reviews on the Cochrane Library website, but I generally don't recommend searching here, as you'll frequently hit paywalls.