Sociology and Anthropology 269: Urban Sociology
LibKey Nomad
Resource Sharing Librarian
Minnesota Newspapers
- Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune This link opens in a new windowStudy the progression of events over time by browsing full-text, full-image issues of The Minneapolis Star Tribune, which offers coverage from 1867-2001 including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
- Star TribuneThe Star Tribune is the newspaper of the Twin Cities and surrounding areas and the largest newspaper in Minnesota. Articles can be searched by date or title and are available beginning in 1986 up to the present with a three-day delay.
- St. Paul Pioneer PressThe St. Paul Pioneer press is the rival paper of the Star Tribune and serves the Twin Cities and surrounding counties reaching east into Wisconsin. It is available from 1986-present
- Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)Digitized version of the Minneapolis Tribune newspaper from its first issue in 1867 through 1922.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new windowThe Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and today. Due to copyright law, newspapers published after 1922 can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.
U.S. Newspapers, Public Records, Data, & Ephemera
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of primary sources from popular culture in Britain and America, spanning 1950-1975.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Minnesota Resources
- Census DataPopulation, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Minneapolis CollectionAt Hennepin County Libraries, the Minneapolis Collection contains photographs, oral histories, business directories, and other types of materials ideal for social history research.
- Minnesota Historical Society Oral HistoriesImmigrant Oral Histories presents a collection of over 360 oral history interviews conducted between 1967 and 2012 with recent immigrants to Minnesota and their American-born children, including both streaming audio and written transcripts accessible online in digital formats.
- Minnesota ReflectionsContains more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
- Minnesota Report Card"This tool is designed to provide parents, educators, schools, districts and citizens with easy access to district and school information, test results, demographic information and other critical data in a centralized location."
- Minnesota Secretary of State Election ResultsLook through Minnesota election results from 1992-present from the state as a whole down to the precinct level.
- MN State Demographic CenterData from the U.S. Census, state agencies, and more.
Northfield Newspapers
- Northfield NewsNorthfield's local newspaper, "Northfield News" deals with local issues including news from Carleton and St. Olaf. The paper is archived here on a two day delay beginning in 2002, but some print articles may not be available.
- Northfield News (1879-1922)
As part of a broader Minnesota Historical Society Project to host historical newspapers, the first decades of the Northfield News are available online