- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Statistics and Data Science 172: Statistics 1
- Finding Data & Articles
Statistics and Data Science 172: Statistics 1
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Welcome!
This guide includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research for your data research project. For further assistance with your research, visit the research desk or contact your librarian using the contact information in the left-hand column.
Finding Data
Recommended by Your Professor
- Data Sources on the WebFind lists of data sources for specific disciplines (economics, healthcare, sciences, etc.)
- Vanderbilt Biostatistics DatasetsDatasets from the Vanderbilt Department of Biostatistics.
- IPUMS"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space."
Additional Resources for Finding Data
- Data Citation Index This link opens in a new windowData Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- CORGIS DatasetsNicely described, clean datasets on a variety of topics.
Finding Articles
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. This collection contains databases such as the Sociology Database, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Political Science Database, PAIS Index, PolicyFile, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Database, Library Science Database, LISA, Education Database, ERIC and Linguistics Database.
- Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional journal articles, popular and trade magazine articles, and other materials on biomechanics, coaching, dance, facilities, health, kinesiology, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, and sports medicine and psychology. Covers materials published 1970-present.