- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120C: Human Migrations
- Find Books & Articles
Writing 120C: Human Migrations
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics
Welcome!
Hi there! This guide is designed to help you find, evaluate, and cite sources for your research in Writing 120. For further assistance, please schedule a research consultation with Audrey or email her at gunn4@stolaf.edu.
Search Catalyst for books, articles, and more!
General / Interdisciplinary Databases: Find Popular and Scholarly Articles!
If you're exploring research topic ideas, these databases are a great place to start. Try looking at newspaper and magazine articles or encyclopedia entries to get a general sense of the information available on your potential topic and identify aspects of the topic that you'd like to pursue further in your paper.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
Disciplinary Databases
These databases are mainly designed to help you find scholarly, peer-reviewed research from particular academic disciplines. Some of these databases also include popular sources like magazine and newspaper articles.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. This collection contains databases such as the Sociology Database, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Political Science Database, PAIS Index, PolicyFile, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Database, Library Science Database, LISA, Education Database, ERIC and Linguistics Database.
All Databases
- A-Z List of St. Olaf Libraries DatabasesSearch Library databases for free access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, streaming video, and more. Click the "All Subjects" dropdown menu near the top of the page to identify discipline-specific databases.