Theater Subject Guide
Selected Reference Books
The Cambridge Guide to TheatreCall Number: PN2035 .C27 1995
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater, 1930-2010Call Number: PN2266.3 .F573 2011
The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance by Call Number: PN2035 .O92 2003Publication Date: 2003
What's North American Theatre Online?
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Plays & More...
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of plays (plus relevant documentaries), including the complete BBC Shakespeare Collection. Includes materials recorded 1930s-present.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowAsian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field.
- Black Drama, Second Edition: African, African American, and Diaspora 1850 to Present This link opens in a new windowBlack Drama, Second Edition contains over 1,400 full-text plays from the 1800s to the present day. Included are plays of Langston Hughes, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zora Neale Hurston, James Weldon Johnson, Ira Aldridge, Shirley Graham, W.E.B. DuBois, and others.
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new windowMore than half of the plays included in North American Indian Drama are previously unpublished, almost all are hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible. Together, these plays demonstrate Native theater's diversity of tribal traditions and communities, approaches to drama, and individual experiences, but also reflect the commonality of the artistic drive of Native writers to give public voice to their own representations of themselves and their culture. The collection represents many Native American groups across the United States and Canada.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new windowNorth American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 female playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Over 30% of the plays included here have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,500 plays from the 20th century, as well as playbills, photos, and other related information.
Digital Theatre Plus
Digtial Theatre Plus contains streaming video and study guides for British plays and topics in theatre production.
