Writing 111I: The Trickster
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
What Is a Database?
A database allows you to search through a vast collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as essays in books and conference papers. You may search by topic, author, or article title.
Databases are organized by:
- Topic (music, psychology, etc.)
- Geographic Region (Asia, Africa, etc.)
- Type of Material (newspapers, streaming video)
- "A little bit of everything/overviews" - multidisciplinary
Browse an A-Z list of St. Olaf Libraries databases, or click the Databases button from the Libraries homepage.
Subject-Specific Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowA compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from over 8,000 scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from over 5,000 scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines.
How do I know if it's scholarly?
- Ulrichsweb.com This link opens in a new windowBibliographic and publisher information on periodicals including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular magazines, and newspapers.